The Anglican Communion is made up of 38 Provinces that include 77 million members in 164 countries.  Some Provinces, such as the Anglican Church of Canada, are national churches, while others cover several countries. The Worldwide Anglican Communion is the world's third-largest Christian Denomination and the largest and most unified Protestant denomination.

In the summer of 2006 the Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams very helpfully identified three things that when held together make Anglicanism distinct from other Christian denominations and contribute to the essential character of our church. Other denominations share one or two of these things. What makes Anglicanism unique is the balanced presence of all three. They are:

  • A reformed commitment to the absolute priority of the Bible for deciding doctrine.
  • A catholic loyalty to the sacraments and the threefold ministry of bishops, priests and deacons
  • A habit of cultural sensitivity and intellectual flexibility that does not seek to close down unexpected questions too quickly.

These three points clearly linked to our reformation heritage, our catholic heritage, and our intellectual heritage nicely capture the core strength of the Anglican way of living out our Christian Faith.

For more information, visit the Anglican lectionary:

Anglican Church in North America

The Anglican Church in North America (ACNA) unites 112,000 Anglicans in nearly 1,000 congregations across the United States, Canada, and Mexico into a single Church. On April 16, 2009, it was recognized as a province of the global Anglican Communion by the Primates of the Global Fellowship of Confessing Anglicans. The Most Rev. Dr. Foley Beach is the Archbishop of the Church.

ACNA members are in the mainstream, both globally and historically, of Christianity - the biblically-faithful way of following Jesus and being part of the "One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church". As Anglicans, this orthodoxy is defined by and centered on our church's classic formularies - the Book of Common Prayer, including the Ordinal, and the Thirty-nine Articles - which all point back to the authority of the Holy Bible and articulate foundational principle of the Anglican tradition throughout the world.

For more information, visit ACNA's website:

Churches for the Sake of Others

Churches for the Sake of Others (C4SO), a Diocese of the Anglican Church in North America, is a community of churches and leaders committed to nurturing existing congregations as well as planting new churches. Under the leadership of Diocesan Bishop Todd Hunter, C4SO seeks to announce, embody and demonstrate the Kingdom of God.

The new Diocese unites a community of churches and leaders located primarily in California, Kansas, Texas, and the Southeast, organized by regional deaneries. C4SO will also be involved in planting churches in collaboration with other bishops throughout the United States.  Begun as a church planting movement in 2009, the Anglican Church in North America’s Provincial Council approved formation of the Diocese in June 2013.

For more information, visit C4SO's website: